I am trying to install a new printer

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

I am trying to install a new printer

Postby betobato » Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:34 pm

I am trying to install a new printer and I get this box with this warning " windows can't open add printer. The local print spooler service is not running. please restart the spooler or restart the machine.
i restart a few times but I still get this massage
i would appreciate any and all help.
Jon
betobato
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:12 am

Postby evasive » Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:28 pm

What operating system, what patch level, what printer and are you trying this with an account that has administrator rights?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:53 am

Evasive's info would be helpful for further diagnosis. But just to check the printer spooler service to see if its running.
Go to Start. Choose Run (or Search if Windows 7)
Type 'services.msc' and hit Enter
Scroll down to "Printer Spooler" and make sure its started and set to Automatic.

if it is, then you have a larger problem.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

I am trying to install a new printer

Postby betobato » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:35 am

evasive wrote:What operating system, what patch level, what printer and are you trying this with an account that has administrator rights?


The operating system is windows 7 professional, I don't know the patch level and as to printer is HP Photosmart D7560. and there is no administrator rights.
Thank You
betobato
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:12 am

Postby betobato » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:38 am

Hardware Junkie wrote:Evasive's info would be helpful for further diagnosis. But just to check the printer spooler service to see if its running.
Go to Start. Choose Run (or Search if Windows 7)
Type 'services.msc' and hit Enter
Scroll down to "Printer Spooler" and make sure its started and set to Automatic.

if it is, then you have a larger problem.


The operating system I have is windows 7, I didn't see Run!
betobato
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:12 am

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:55 am

Setup is different for some printers than others. For some, you first install the software.. then the hardware. For others, hardware first.. then the software. Put the driver disk in the optical drive, then connect the printer. Windows should find the proper drivers. If not, then point the search to the disk for the proper drivers.
Spooling should be on stand-by, ready for whenever needed. Part of the "background" program activity.
That HP D7560 is an expensive printer for high-quality results. No reason that Windows cannot find it, unless the printer model was offered after the OS inception date! If so, then there would not be an "inf" relation file for it.
If such, then use the "add printer" process from the start menu. Choose the brand, and the model (if listed). If not listed, then choose the "have disk" and the installation should go well.
If you do not see the "run" option from the start menu, then look for the line that reads "show all programs".
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby evasive » Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:25 pm

betobato wrote:
Hardware Junkie wrote:Evasive's info would be helpful for further diagnosis. But just to check the printer spooler service to see if its running.
Go to Start. Choose Run (or Search if Windows 7)
Type 'services.msc' and hit Enter
Scroll down to "Printer Spooler" and make sure its started and set to Automatic.

if it is, then you have a larger problem.


The operating system I have is windows 7, I didn't see Run!
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Roach412 » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:59 am

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... un-command

You can also access the Run command by pressing the Windows logo key +R.


-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby Corbin » Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:07 am

You should tell OS. However, Go to the website of the printer maker and download the driver and install it. If you tell what printer model it is and what operating system you have, i can help you find it.
Corbin
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:34 pm

Postby rascard2007 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:07 am

a virus infection could prevents the spooler service running, check for that

¿have u any other printer installed?
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests