How Much RAM for NEW PC?

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

How Much RAM for NEW PC?

Postby knotscott » Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:05 pm

Hi gang! It's a been a while, but you were all so helpful with my first PC build, thought I'd ask your opinions again.

I've just assembled my 2nd build, and I'm wondering how much RAM is ideal vs overkill. The system includes a Gigabyte GA970a-DS3 MB, AMD FX-4100 (overclocked to 4.4ghz), Thermaltake CPU cooler, EGVA 210 graphics card, Lite-On Blue Ray player, Hitachi 400GB HD, and a Corsair 500WPSU. Intended usage is for all kinds of a family stuff...music, videos, pics, some games, web surfing, homework, etc.

It's running fine with 8GB RAM, in fact it's pretty darn zippy, but 16GB more RAM is on the way. Is 24GB RAM overkill? Would 16GB be nearly as good?

Your input is greatly appreciated!
MOBO - Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
CPU - AMD FX4100 OC @ 4.5Ghz
CPU Cooler - Thermaltake Contac 21
Graphics card - EVGA GeForce 210 1GB DDR3
RAM - 24 GB PC1600 DDR3 12800MHz 240 pin
PSU - Corsair CX500 V2
HD - Hitachi 400 GB Sata
ASUS VH242H 23.6" LCD monitor
Lite-On Blue Ray/Cd/DVD player
Windows 7 Ultimate 64, Office 2007
knotscott
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:20 am

Postby Mr T » Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:43 pm

8Gb is overkill for most normal PC usage, but it won't be any detriment running more...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17087
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby knotscott » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:57 am

Thanks Mr. T.
MOBO - Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
CPU - AMD FX4100 OC @ 4.5Ghz
CPU Cooler - Thermaltake Contac 21
Graphics card - EVGA GeForce 210 1GB DDR3
RAM - 24 GB PC1600 DDR3 12800MHz 240 pin
PSU - Corsair CX500 V2
HD - Hitachi 400 GB Sata
ASUS VH242H 23.6" LCD monitor
Lite-On Blue Ray/Cd/DVD player
Windows 7 Ultimate 64, Office 2007
knotscott
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:20 am

Postby rascard2007 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:22 am

there is an old saying for how much RAM is enough "The Most The Better" so I think it still applies for the newest systems, as far as the OS supports it.
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:41 am

With higher than 2 GB of system memory, you need a true 64-bit OS. Maximum for a 32-bit OS platform is around 3.5 GB.. which must include any device memory in the setup. For most uses, 4 GB is more than enough. If you do intensive gaming, video editing or CAD work, then yes, 8 GB may be desired. If a 'server' setup, then going out to 32 GB may be a good bet. But the motherboard may degrade memory performance with a "full house" of modules!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:05 pm

The only time I ever put 12-24GB RAM in a system is with a server. 24GB usually means its something that will be running a couple of virtuals on it.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Roach412 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:26 pm

i think (from memory here) that i typically max out around 6-8.

large games can easily eat up 2-3gb without much hesitation. depending on how much other "stuff" you got running, it would be unusual to see much more than 8gb consumed.

like junkie said - unless you have some of that memory allocated to some kind of virtual instances (or have some other types of services/server apps running) you're going to be having some RAM be relatively "dormant".

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests