Graphics Card Compatibility?

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
Zouave
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:08 am
Contact:

Graphics Card Compatibility?

Post by Zouave »

I was looking at this card:

http://ati.amd.com/products/fireglv5600/index.html

and I have a few questions, having not built a computer system in some time, and being a relative novice at the moment.

Am I stuck with an AMD cpu with the above card? Are ATI cards compatible with Intel cpus, as I was leaning heavily towards a Core 2 Duo chipset. With that being the case, do I need to start looking at Nvidia cards instead of ATI?

I got the distinct impression that for the money, ATI offers a better workstation (not gaming) graphics card. Will I be able to add a second card as the SLI cards will allow, if I go with ATI?

Thanks in advance, if I need to clarify my questions, please let me know.
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37617
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

http://ati.amd.com/products/workstation/techspecs3.html

I see nothing listed about a specific CPU in the system requirements, only a PCIe 16x slot on your motherboard.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
sbrehm72255
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:40 am

Post by sbrehm72255 »

The video card will work on any type system regardless of CPU type (Intel or AMD) as long as the Motherboard has the correct interface for the card................. :o
Zouave
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:08 am
Contact:

Post by Zouave »

Thanks, I was worried a lot about that. I appreciate the feedback.
User avatar
jimmy-j
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Location: U.K.

Post by jimmy-j »

I'm sure Intel are backing ati's crossfire, Methinks because Nvidia has encroached onto Intels turf.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Contact:

Re: Graphics Card Compatibility?

Post by Sabrewings »

Zouave wrote:Will I be able to add a second card as the SLI cards will allow, if I go with ATI?
With ATI, you wouldn't be using SLI. You'd be running Crossfire and need a Crossfire supporting motherboard.
[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/random%20stuff/mobosig52.jpg[/img][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/fft.gif[/img]
[url=http://recordingindustryvspeople.blogspot.com/][b]RIAA vs The People[/b][/url]
Zouave
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:08 am
Contact:

Post by Zouave »

The official site for the card I was looking at above did not indicate directly that it supported Crossfire. Is that something that all ATI cards support, so long as the motherboard is in compliance, or do I need a specific graphics card to have that capability?

And I apologize for the relatively newbie-esque questions, I'm still trying to wrap my mind around some of the new technology, and how it works and relates to each other...
User avatar
jimmy-j
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Location: U.K.

Post by jimmy-j »

Not all ATI cards will be crossfire, there will be a row of gold fingers along the top of the card for this purpose if it can be enabled, There is a page on their website which tells you what cards are compatable for cxrossfire.
Post Reply