Reviews

Jun 11, 2009 9:51am
ASUS has done their usual solid job with a new motherboard release. As the chipsets used on this motherboard are not new, the performance across different boards using these two chipsets should be pretty close and they are. A lot of AM2+ motherboards support the AM3 CPUs with a BIOS Flash allowing for easy upgrade options for older motherboard chipsets. ASUS's board has support for four ATI cards in CrossfireX which is a great way to get the best performance out of your new motherboard in games. In terms of features, ASUS really can't be beat with their extra features like Q-Shield and 8+2... more.
Jun 10, 2009 11:19am
The Sileo 500 case is an exciting example of an inexpensive case that distinguishes itself from other cases in a few ways. First is the silent operation. Everything from the padded insulation on the sides, top, and bottom of the case is designed for quiet operation. The HDDs are installed via anti-vibration drive rails which reduce noise as well. Cooler Master has this case on sale on the market for under $60, making it a good bargain as you also get a 500W PSU included with the bundle. This case is a solid value for the user wanting good features on a silent case and it delivers it in... more.
Jun 05, 2009 11:22am
From a performance point of view the GeForce GTX 275 from XFX performs exactly as specified from a standard GeForce GTX 275 card. The card outperforms the Radeon HD 4890 in a number of the applications as well in a head to head comparison. The inclusion of Far Cry 2, adds to the value of the card as most video cards do not come with a game. If you buy the card from Newegg you also get a copy of Call of Duty World at War. This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jun 02, 2009 5:16am
ASUS motherboards are favorites of me and Doc Overclock. In fact, almost every motherboard in our personal systems has an ASUS motherboards installed on them. The P5Q Pro Turbo is a good motherboard, with performance, features and a great price. You can purchase this board online from Newegg for under $120, meaning that the board has the ASUS quality and features but for a mainstream price.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jun 01, 2009 5:21am
The fact of the matter is that the P45 chipset is delegated to the mainstream and value market right now. If you want the fastest CPU and best platform that is the Intel Core i7 and X58 combination as the AMD Phenom IIs is simply no CPU match speed-wise to the Intel Core i7 platform. The ASUS Maximus II Gene offers a lot of overclocking options and has the ability to run two ATI cards in CrossfireX mode, improving game performance while sacrificing little in terms of moving to a micro-ATX motherboard.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
May 29, 2009 9:11am
The Phoenix Neo case from Enermax has several positives including holes on the rear of the case for water cooling, the tool-less installation of drives, a removable HDD rack, and the tool-less installation of PCI devices. The case also has an extensive FP I/O including four USB 2.0 ports, an external SATA port and the ability to install most long video cards.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
May 28, 2009 1:51pm
From a pure performance point of view the GIGABYTE GV-N96TSL-1GI video card is not the fastest card in its price range. Where this card excels however is in the temperature rating it gets idle (52C) and under normal stress conditions (62C). These temperatures are far lower than equivalent video cards with high speed noisy fans.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
May 26, 2009 6:46am
There is a lot to like about the AZZA Solano 1000 case. First is the painted black interior. Second is the ease of use of installation on the case. The ability to install extended ATX and Micro ATX motherboards gives maximum flexibility. Cooling on tThis article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
May 20, 2009 12:05pm
The bottom line on the XFX card is: this card is priced online for $109.99 which is the MSRP ATI suggests for this card. You get the performance, features and support that you would expect from a card with the XFX branding. XFX bundles their usual hardware and the driver CD comes with an automatic link to the best drivers suited for the card.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
May 20, 2009 7:43am
MSI's card is the same as the reference design Radeon HD 4770, as the clock speeds and specifications are the same in almost every way. Performance of the card is similar to the other HD 4770s I've tested. Overclocking on the card reached a high of 820MHz for the core and 825MHz (3300MHz) for the memory, an impressive overclock. The cooling solution on the card is excellent as the fan makes little noise during operation and the heat pipe effectively cools the card.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.

Pages