Reviews

Jul 02, 2009 6:40am
The Radeon HD 4870 is not the newest available card from ATI; the HD 4890 replaced it earlier this year. Performance on the HD 4870 is still excellent for the price. Sapphire went the extra mile with the cooling on the card, rarely going higher than 68C even under the most stressful situations. 2GB of memory really shows off when setting anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering, as the extra memory gets used in those situations. Sapphire offers an attractive package with the addition of 3DMark Vantage to show off your new card's potential.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click... more.
Jun 30, 2009 7:57am
Hello everyone, today we post our very first video review based on upgrading a 13'' Macbook Pro Laptop with and 80GB Kingston SSD and 4 GB of Crucial DDR3 8500 1066Mhz memory. This was a fun review to do as it takes us in a different direction than the standard written reviews you are used to seeing on motherboards.org. Thanks for all your support, we hope you enjoy this new video review format. This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jun 25, 2009 12:25pm
ASUS has taken the Core i7 platform and turned it into a pseudo supercomputer. The combination of three NVIDIA Tesla cards and a Quadro card brings up to four TeraFLOPS of possible computing performance. Performance of the board itself was extraordinary with high scores throughout the testing. The P6T7 is designed for the workstation crowd and stability, manageability, support for SAS drives are as important as performance.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jun 24, 2009 2:34pm
In Win set out to design a unique solution on their X-fighter case and it shows in the design and features of the case. The X-Fighter looks sort of like a spaceship but does not look like the ships we come to expect from the Star Wars universe like the X-Wing and TIE fighters. In terms of cooling the case has adequate cooling with a front fan, a rear fan, and a GPU cooling solution. The X-Fighter is available online for under $100 USD and sports high end features like the I/O area having e-SATA, Firewire, four USB.20 port. The inclusion of anti-shock drive rails is another high-end selling... more.
Jun 23, 2009 7:38am
ASUS has set a reputation among enthusiasts of offering high-priced excellent performing gaming motherboards of choice with their Republic Of Gamers motherboards and the CROSSHAIR III Formula is an excellent example of its breed. The board overclocked to 3.21GHz from the default 2.6GHz a 23% overclock that was completely stable. The board also has the features you want from an AMD board including support for AM3 Phenom II CPUs, an LCD POSTER, the ability to Level Up your CPU with the flick of a button and onboard Start, Reset and MemOK buttons on the board. The one negative on this board is... more.
Jun 21, 2009 2:14pm
Overclocking on this motherboard is for enthusiast users and not the faint of heart, because to get the optimum results you must use the overvoltage options. You can easily achieve a 15-20% overclock with most of the retail CPUs available from Intel at this moment, but if you want the 25-30% result, liquid or better cooling is required and time spent fine tuning the settings. We were able to overclock our test bed CPU between 15-22%, but the heat of the CPU with the voltage increases did not fare well. Overall for overclocking EVGA has a strong product, but many normal users may find... more.
Jun 18, 2009 3:34pm
From a performance point of view, if you're looking for the fastest card there really isn't much choice but to go with the GeForce GTX295 as it offers blistering performance in the latest games with the highest resolutions and settings enabled. EVGA offers excellent support with Lifetime Warranty, Toll-Free Technical Support 24/7 and the 90 day Step Up Program that can't be beat. Buy two of these cards and you'll have the ultimate in performance bar none. One thing to note is the card is $549.99 online, making it expensive but if you want uncompromising performance sometimes you have to pay... more.
Jun 17, 2009 5:22am
I must say that having this much storage space on a single drive is quite appealing and my HTPC is an appreciative host for the WD 2TB Green hard drive. Now I can store even more massive quantities of movies and music, but in honesty I cannot wait until a 5TB drives becomes the standard, as believe it or not I could fill the drive with ease. I remember when a 2GB drive was a lot of storage space and now a 2TB drive, man the future is arriving faster than we think my friends. This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jun 14, 2009 9:55am
Right now SSD drives are one hot commodity in the PC industry at large and with more and more companies jumping on the band wagon it will not be long before these new drives become the mainstay of storage. They will most likely be used as your boot drive in which you’re OS is installed, making for less chances of data loss. At the moment these drives are easily available up to a 160GB capacity and are a bit on the pricey stage in a drifting economy, but really do offer new advancements in storage technology. Whenever something is new to market it is this way and we will see prices drop as the... more.
Jun 12, 2009 11:29am
From a platform point of view the Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P motherboard fits the bill as a motherboard that supports AMD's latest CPUs on the AM3 platform including the 810 we used for this review. Features-wise this board has all of the features that an enthusiast will want from a new AM3 motherboard except for one. For those expecting to run three or four ATI cards in CrossfireX mode will be disappointed as this board only has two PCI Express x16 slots but that is not the target audience of this board.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.

Pages