Reviews

Jul 29, 2009 8:26am
There is no disputing that the new SSD storage devices are the wave of the future, and Kingston has done a solid job of bringing a variety of these new products to the market. This SSD drive is geared for the mainstream user and even though it’s still a bit pricey, it is well affordable to those who value the integrity of their information. The V series is not quite as fast as he M Series drives, but it also sells for a lot less therefore making it more affordable to the masses that want this type of media security, but do not have the finance to buy one of the faster more expensive units.... more.
Jul 27, 2009 7:39am
External enclosures are a great thing for backup, but the BlacX is better than most enclosures as it offers a hot-swappable bay, and you can use any SATA drive up to 2Tb to store your information. A standard external enclosure only uses one drive and is limited by that factor, with the BlacX multiple drives can be easily accessed by just pulling out the drive you are using and swapping it out for another, no hassle no data loss. For Mac users the eSATA connection is a must and for PC users the USB 2.0 connection works just great. The BlacX in my opinion is easy to hook up, easy to use, and... more.
Jul 24, 2009 6:26am
A full-fledged X58 motherboard for under $170 was just a dream a year ago, fully realized with the ASRock X58 Extreme motherboard. ASRock offers most of the features of the X58 SuperComputer with the exceptions being 3 full length PCI Express slots instead of four and better BIOS options. Performance is on par or better than that of the X58 SuperComputer which is much more expensive but has an additional PCI Express slot for another video card and supports the Tesla video cards from NVIDIA. ASRock has really done an outstanding job with this motherboard offering the performance of the more... more.
Jul 19, 2009 9:50am
Upgrading your memory on any system is usually the cheapest and easiest way to get better performance out of it, be it a Mac or a PC. Upgrading the stock memory in the Macbook Pro to Kingston's 4GB set showed increased performance and at little cost to you as it is under $60.00 for this 4GB memory set. Overall this is a great upgrade for your system and Kingston has a solid warranty program as well, helping to seal the deal and giving you confidence that your purchase was a sound one. This is the best and easiest upgrade path you can go and anyone who has a little patience can handle taking... more.
Jul 17, 2009 6:42am
SilverStone says they are targeting this case for the Extreme Enthusiast and it has a plethora of features and innovation for just that crowd. The price tag online is $249.99 as of this writing, making it not for the faint of heart when it comes to those with a light wallet this case is not for you. If you want a case that looks like an F-117 Night Hawk in some ways and has an innovative cooling system that draws the air up and out of the system, the SilverStone Raven RV-01 may just fit the bill. This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jul 16, 2009 1:37pm
EVGA put a serious amount of time, energy and effort into the design of this motherboard, and it shows in all the features and extras this motherboard has. This is no amateur product, in fact it's really a motherboard that is geared toward overclocking professionals who want the quality components, and overclocking capabilities the new 3X SLI Classified has to offer.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jul 10, 2009 8:09am
Sapphire has taken an already powerful card in the HD 4870 and overclocked it. The resulting card is nothing less than superb with the extra cooling that the Vapor-X offers I was able to overclock the card to 810MHz for the core and 1100MHz for the memory. Card temperatures reached 72C when under stress and running overclocked but that is not much of a jump from the 65C that the card would exhibit when idle.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read the full article.
Jul 08, 2009 8:48am
From a features point of view the G41TM-E43 motherboard delivers for the HTPC user. Features like Blu-Ray audio playback through the onboard sound, an ok integrated graphics chip with the G41, HDMI and DVI-D support on the rear I/O, support for Core 2 Quad CPUs like the Q9400 can make a great HTPC. Granted, gaming performance on the G41 is not the greatest, but if you are using your computer to watch Blu-Ray movies, play console games and watch TV playing computer games on the integrated graphics is the last thing you should worry about. HTPC users are looking for small, quiet motherboards... more.
Jul 08, 2009 6:40am
The AMD platform has long been known for its backwards compatible platforms with AM2+ CPUs able t work with the AM2 motherboards with a BIOS upgrade, and now the AM3 CPUs able to use the same AM2+ motherboards with DDR2 memory meaning the total cost of ownership for a new system with an AM3 CPU is potentially much less than the equivalent Intel CPU with a new motherboard and DDR3 memory combination. The 955 Black Edition CPU is able to outperform the 810 CPU we use in platform testing across the board with higher performance.This article can be found in our Reviews Vault. Click here to read... more.
Jul 07, 2009 8:02am
There are other SSD drives out there and the competition is starting to brew amongst those who are delving into this industry. So far we have seen three SSD drives come through here, and I must say that I was very impressed with the Super Talent UltraDrive 128GB SSD, it made our Mac Pro in the recording studio have much faster boot/seek times as well as opening up applications and transferring files much faster than our previous BOOT drive, the WD 150GB SATA VelociRaptor, which when we first got it was much faster than our previous Seagate 750GB drive.This article can be found in our Reviews... more.

Pages